Death Note (2015) poster

Details

Statistics

  • Score: 8.0 (scored by 5,162 users)
  • Ranked: #1564
  • Popularity: #797
  • Watchers: 12,702

Weekly MyDramaList Support Goal

17%
Help Support MyDramaList

Top Contributors

28 edits
24 edits
14 edits
11 edits

Popular Lists

Related lists from users
J-Drama
346 titles 91 loves
Favorite Manga/Manhwa Adaptation
383 titles 167 loves 1
Psychopaths & Serial killers
90 titles 208 loves 11

Recently Watched By

Completed
SilverCloud
46 people found this review helpful
Sep 17, 2015
11 of 11 episodes seen
Completed 2
Overall 9.0
Story 8.0
Acting/Cast 9.0
Music 10
Rewatch Value 9.0
Since Death Note has a special place in my heart, as the films of it led me to getting into, at first, Japanese dramas and anime, followed by Taiwanese and Korean dramas after that. So this new adaptation of it had a lot to live up to.

Upon first discovering how much had been changed from the original manga and anime, I wasn’t expecting much from this adaptation. However, instead, I was pleasantly surprised overall at how much I ended up really enjoying this drama version, and found it an interesting take on the series.


The Actors, Characters, and some of the changes from the original and first adaptations:

Kubota Masataka as ‘Light’

In the original and other adaptations, the character of Light was a highly intelligent yet cold and cynical character, however in this he started off as a normal university student with average intelligence, and a generally nice character.
Whilst this at first didn’t seem right as they’d completely changed his basic character, I thought it actually worked well, as he was more likeable and relatable a character at first, and his transformation into the cold, crazy, power-hungry killer, was much more interesting.

Kubota Masataka’s acting as Light in this drama version was absolutely superb, where he played the transformation from normal college student into the cold psychotic killer very convincingly.
His expressions and reactions, his swapping and changing between trying to act normal and nice to others but then secretly showing his real thoughts and feelings, the changes between being emotionless and cold at certain times, but being filled with emotion during others, and his descent into madness, all was acted wonderfully.

-------------------------------------------

Yamazaki Kento as ‘L’

L in the anime and movie versions was my favourite character of the story, and one of my favourite characters overall out of various different films and tv series. He was such a unique character with various interestingly weird quirks and habits. However in this version they changed so much that I was wondering what had been left of his character when I first began the drama.

In the original manga, anime and movie versions, his character was a sweets obsessed, eccentric genius detective, who sat and stood crouched over as he believed it increased his intelligence, he held things very delicately with a finger and thumb by the corners, and had a rather dark and mysterious and rather disheveled appearance as he was more interested in solving his cases than his outer appearance.

In this version, whilst yes he was a genius detective, and yes he did have a certain weird and eccentric nature about him, and yes he did stand bent over at times, but otherwise:

- His sweets obsession had been replaced with him mostly drinking some kind of energy drink called 'Lucky Charge', most probably done to avoid showing a main character eating loads of unhealthy foods on mainstream television. I don’t know who made that decision, but it did take away one of the main characteristics and eccentricities that were specific to the character of L.

- In this version he didn’t sit in L’s crouched type of way, the majority of the time, and instead tended to put his feet/shoes up on the table or put his legs over the sides of chairs in a carefree manner instead.

- He also didn't hold things correctly, in fact it was Watari who held things more like the original L did.

- Regarding appearance, whilst he did look like L, however he was uncharacteristically too arrogant than the original L, and was obsessed with having clean and neatly ironed shirts, in fact virtually every episode involved some moment where a bit of dirt got on his shirt or it got creased and he just had to take his shirt off, (cue fan service haha), and replace it with another freshly cleaned and ironed shirt by Watari.

Yamazaki Kento who played L in this version, I thought at first was ok, but the smug mannerisms he kept doing just didn’t seem right for the character of L, and he certainly was no comparison to Matsuyama Kenichi’s amazing portrayal of L in the films.

However, I did like the way he portrayed a certain weirdness of L that seemed appropriate to the character, his other general mannerisms seemed appropriate as well, and I thought he improved a lot throughout the drama, where I ended up liking the actor’s interpretation of this alternative version much more as the series went on.

-------------------------------------------

Sano Hinako as ‘Misa’

I think both the character of Misa, and Sano Hinako who played her, portrayed an appropriate representation of her character in this version, as she was similar to the other ones, where she had a mix of a rather naive and somewhat airheaded type personality about her, yet a darker side to the character during the story as well. She was overall perhaps a bit stronger however in this than the other versions.

-------------------------------------------

Yuki Mio as ‘Near’, and Weird Doll Puppet thing as ‘Mello’

The original Near was male, yet apart from a female playing Near in this, (which technically doesn’t have to mean the character’s the same gender anyway), but the basic plot for this drama version referred to the character in female terms. However, within a few episodes, the subs kept referring to the character as “him”, so not sure what gender Near was in this.
Apart from that, Near’s outer appearance and childlike nature kept in line with the original manga and the anime, along with the high intelligence as well. However, I thought that the writers of this added a much more interesting storyline to the character, as they introduced a rather dark and crazy side to the character for this tv version. I was also highly impressed with Yuki Mio’s acting as Near in this, and particularly at quite a young age as well. Her changes between the sweet and innocent childlike character, yet sudden outbursts of a dark crazy side to her character, I thought she acted those so well.

In regards to Mello, in the anime, he was my next favourite character after L, and with his emotional and fiery personality, he was a great alternative to the cold character of Near, as they went up against one another to solve the case, in the manga and anime. However in this drama version, his character had been reduced to Near’s creepy doll puppet thing, which Near spoke through when she (or he) got angry. So from towards the beginning, Mello represented a dark side to Near, an alter-ego, which gave a certain extra depth of character and a certain extra quirkiness as well. I won’t say what, but later in the series I was impressed with how they expanded on that storyline, however it was also somewhat disappointing, as it never got chance to develop properly, since it all seemed a bit rushed when they brought that story out.
However, I also thought the Mello doll’s outer appearance was appropriate for the drama, as it’s creepiness and gothic appearance was appropriate to the dark horror-type themes of the series.

-------------------------------------------

The Other Actors and Supporting Characters

The rest of the characters all seemed appropriate to their original selves, and I particularly thought Ryuk was great in this version, as he made for many entertaining and comical moments.

Regarding the actors, whilst some of the extras overreacted a bit, in general the supporting actors all portrayed their roles well and convincingly, and I really liked Hankai Kazuaki's portrayal of Watari, as he added an extra charm and more personality to the character, in fact I thought he was definitely the best version of the character out of the different adaptations.

____________________________________________


Cinematography:

The cinematography was great in this with a good mix of camera shots to reflect the action that was happening, all whilst completely refraining from any shaky camerawork that many dramas seem to like these days. In this drama, they used what I would refer to as the professional approach to their cinematography, as their utilisation of camerawork was done discreetly as to not distract from the viewing, and instead drew into the events onscreen, e.g. appropriate close-ups when focused on certain characters to bring the audience in, nicely framed/positioned long shots to show the settings and groups of people, and controlled movements of the camera at appropriate times.

____________________________________________


Graphics:

The graphics and special effects were done really well, with Ryuk and Rem having a good balanced mix of realistic, like they were really there, yet of something not of this world, and with a slight cartoony anime appearance, which was appropriate. Ryuk and Rem also had a familiarity about them, as they appeared very similar to the films, and were overall an appropriate live action representation of the manga and anime images of these characters.

---------------------------

The opening sequence was wonderfully done as a reflection of the story and genre themes.

With the main piece of the drama soundtrack playing in the background, a voice-over of Light read out the basic rules of the Death Note. Onscreen the camera gently panned across pages of what appeared to be old manuscript paper, where drops of blood formed and turned into words and imagery from the pages. There were other displays of blood-like red text that flashed up onscreen displaying the rules as well in full, and it finished the sequence as though Light had closed the book on completion of reading the rules, as the screen changed to a black textured background where upon the title “Death Note” in red text was displayed.

I thought this opening sequence was all done beautifully and was a great representation of the bloody murderous nature of the Death Note, and the general crime, horror-type and supernatural themes of the series.

____________________________________________


The Settings:

As for the settings, all seemed appropriate to the characters and situations, such as Light’s student lad’s bedroom, and Misa’s girly apartment, however one that really stood out was L’s place, where he spent most of his time and where the police joined him to help hunt down Kira.

L’s headquarters

For this version of L, with his obsession with neatness and cleanliness, the clinical, mostly white decor and furniture at L’s main side of the room, was an appropriate reflection of L in this. There was a line-up of his neatly cleaned and ironed shirts displayed at the side of the room, a cupboard in a corner neatly displaying many duplicates of his favourite drink, the walls were mostly bare brick that had been painted white over, and as representations of his vast knowledge and intelligence, many books were displayed in a corner and an upstairs section, and a large world map mural adorned one of the walls. There were also quite a lot of computer screens at the side of the room, which was similar to the anime and film versions, where L and the police could use the screens for info and for spying.

With mostly black, white and grey decor and furniture where the police sat, at L’s place, it was appropriate to the conventional and by-the-book nature of the police, and non-distracting from their one goal to concentrate on, catching Kira.

Whilst most of the furniture/decor overall was very conventional sleek and modern, there was a very elaborate pillar in the middle of L’s room, plus a random tent at the side, which both reflected that certain eccentricity about the character as well.

Watari’s section, in contrast to the rest of the room, showed quite an opposite display, as his furniture was of an old classic/antique style, such as his chair and desk, which reflected the charming old-fashioned nature of Watari.

Near’s mansion

Other than L’s place, the dark old-fashioned hallway and staircase where Near was first introduced was a great reflection on both the character of Near in this, as well as the series’ themes, with it’s rather gothic decor and appearance. The lighting in the hall had a cold appearance and a mistiness about it as well, which reflected the mysterious nature of the character upon the first half of the series where very little was shown about them.


____________________________________________


The Music:

I liked the music a lot in this drama adaptation, there were quite a varied mix of tracks in different styles that all were enjoyable and all went perfectly with the events of the drama they were played during.

There was one specific track that reminded me of some of the music from the anime, so this I thought went particularly well as it was recognisable to the Death Note series. I also really liked the 80s style track that played at times, it had a wonderful nostalgia about it, like something that was played in 1980s movies or in 90s computer games. There were also some beautiful, quite otherworldly tracks that reflected the supernatural nature of the drama well, and there were some very moving classical pieces, and one that went perfectly during more thrilling moments.

____________________________________________


Rewatch value and Overall:

Definitely will rewatch this again. Despite its many changes, it was a decent adaptation of the story, and was interesting as an alternative version.

There were, however, some disappointments, not just in changes to certain characters, but later in the series, the story ended up all over the place with a series of events happening that were all very rushed and in general didn’t flow as well as the rest of the drama had done.

Regardless of those few things though, overall I thought it was a very enjoyable drama, the characters, even though somewhat changed, were generally likeable, much of the acting was great, I thought Light’s character in particular was a definite improvement and more interesting than the original, and Kubota Masataka’s acting was particularly good, there were some great thrilling moments, the series had a really good soundtrack, and the drama for the most part told the story adaptation well throughout.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Ashvy
28 people found this review helpful
Sep 17, 2015
11 of 11 episodes seen
Completed 2
Overall 9.5
Story 9.5
Acting/Cast 10
Music 7.0
Rewatch Value 9.0
Ok, first off I would like to confess that I'm one of the rare bunch who hasn't seem the original Death Note anime/manga, neither have I seen the previous movie, though maybe I have but I don't really have any memory of it. However of course I do know the basic storyline, after all it is very famous. So basically this was a new experience for me and it was definitely worth it.

The story was basically followed the original storyline judging from what I saw in the comments, and so I guess they did a really good job of condensing a 30+ anime into 11 eps. Solid effort. Basically it followed the storyline of a normal uni student who was living life like it would have been for him, but when he accidentally picked up the 'Death' Notebook, his life took a drastic turn from there. Of course life doesn't always go smoothly, thus someone will appear to try and stop all his acts of 'justice' which is where the 2nd main lead comes in, and they begin their battle of wit to see who ultimately wins and becomes the last one standing. The story was very compact, exciting and nerve wrecking as I was always extremely tensed to know what might happen next. I watched the whole drama in the span of 3 days, even when I wasn't watching it, my mind would unconsciously think about it as well. That could explain how into it I was.

Acting/Cast
Like everyone has said I think Kubota definitely did a splendid job acting as Yagami Light. Especially as the story progressed and as the character of Light became more and more 'crazy', I could see the change expressed perfectly through the character. During the second half, during his monologues when he was 'Kira' it totally made me believe that he was 'possessed' with that voice and his facial expressions. Thoroughly impressed.
To be honest I started this drama because of L's actor Kento, so during the process of watching this drama I was very emotionally attached to L. I know that they 'changed' this character drastically from the original however I guess I really liked the change of being a 'clean freak' etc. Obviously I loved his acting as L, and even though I knew he was going to die, when it actually happened it still brought tears to my eyes.
Other than the mains I already really enjoyed the side characters such as Watari, Light's dad and the police crew. They all brought extra enjoyment and feelings to the story.

Maybe I was too into the story to notice any good music or soundtracks in general as I don't remember any music. However just judging from the background music during the drama, it fitted the atmosphere and was generally well put. Maybe I need to go back and watch again to find out more.

Overall this was definitely an intense ride of emotions. For someone who usually doesn't watch the thriller, psychological genre I thoroughly enjoyed Death Note and now that I've seen the drama I will definitely go check out the anime and maybe the movie. I reckon the story was well thought out, while it also makes people really notice about what 'power' would do someone on the deep side of things.

This is something that I would definitely rewatch many times, since it's honestly really awesome. I definitely recommend this to those who's watched the anime or movie. Even if they did change things if you watch it with an open mind, it's definitely an awesome drama, plus it's quite short being 11 eps.
Of course I also recommend it to people who like thriller, mystery and the psychological genre in general. This will definitely blow your mind.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
GentleRain
5 people found this review helpful
Sep 20, 2015
11 of 11 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 9.0
Rewatch Value 10
First of all, I watched all the anime episoded and movies, I read the manga too. And I love this show! It's awesome, and I don't even care that they changed the storyline a little bit. The actors did a great job, I absolutely loved Kubota's Light, Yamazaki's L and Yuki Mio's Near. Even Sano's Misa was good, better than Toda Erika's in the movies.

I liked how they changed a few things in the show and showed us another version of DN. I didn't really like the anime or manga, but I love the show and the movies. And even the CGI was great, much better than what you see in the Hollywood movies.

There isn't a single thing I didn't like here, everything was in it's place perfectly. Although I already knew what will happen in the end, I was shocked. The final episode was the BEST I think. But that's my opinion.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Osaka
5 people found this review helpful
Apr 1, 2016
11 of 11 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 7.0
Story 4.5
Acting/Cast 7.5
Music 6.0
Rewatch Value 6.5
As a big fan of the manga I was pretty thrilled when I heard that Death Note was going to get a drama adaptation.
I loved both movies and L change the world was actually a cool movie to watch.
So if someone may ask me to describe this drama with a single word I would probably choose to use the adjective “Disappointing”.
Let me explain myself.
It’s actually a pretty good version of the anime. The story is crazily different form the original one BUT it was actually good to watch Yagami Light character portrayed as a extremely good boy who wants to clear up the world.
Let’s go on with the review:

GOOD POINTS

- L character.

I might describe myself as a “conservative” type when it comes to L character. He’s a pretty complex personality, basically a genius who’s also a weirdo.
This version of L is amazing. He’s a brat at first, a handsome young genius who just wants to play a game with an extremely “dumb” version of Light Yagami.
I loved his personality and during the drama you can see that it slightly changed to a serious one, putting aside jokes when police members start to get killed by Kira.
I always say that Kento still needs to improve as an actor but damn, here he was a shining diamond. He should accept those kind of roles more often, a villain would be a really great challenge for him.
Anyway he did an amazing job and he made me fall in love with L even more.

- Cinematography and Photography.
It was a low budget drama, Ryuk was awful BUT I love the cinematography. It’s not as perfect as “PIECE” one but damn, it was well directed.

- Police Team .
I loved the chemistry between them.


BAD POINTS

- The plot.
I would gave this drama a higher score if the plot didn’t fucked up on its last episode. Death Note screenwriters were amateurs, you can’t deny it.
L death was useless and although it was pretty dramatic I found it useless. Why recording videos of yourself in which you explain exactly how Kira will be caught but get yourself killed because of a stupid mistake?
L’s death was really unnecessary for this plot, plot full of odd points and unexplained choices.
- Light character.
Let’s be honest, I loved how they portrayed Light as a good boy who just got himself caught up with something really evil that has made his mind gone crazy.
BUT Some points were missing. He turned into a psycho really quickly and at some point I was like “What's happening? It was a good guy just a sec ago and now he’s as mad as an hatter.”
I love Kubota’s acting skills but he just got too hype during some scenes, making Light looking like an…. Overexcited idiot?

THE ENDING

Worst ending ever! On my point of view this drama started to get awful right after L death. The plot was getting boring and the main star, L, just disappeared too soon, making the audience a little bit confused and disappointed.

Honestly speaking, I would watch this drama over and over again just for Kento’s character.
I would recommend this drama if you are a big fan of Kento (just like me) but if you are a huge HUGE fan of the manga I guess this drama will piss you off.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
DoHani
4 people found this review helpful
Sep 18, 2015
11 of 11 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 9.5
Story 8.5
Acting/Cast 10
Music 6.5
Rewatch Value 7.5
As a fan of the series I was not disappointed. I`ve watched the anime half a dozen times and the changes on the movie did not frustrate me a lot nor did this adaptation for the drama. The characters were changed as were their backgrounds and individual plots but for someone who hasn`t followed the parent stories this will be a great and enjoyable show. I really enjoyed it although the tweaks in L`s personality really bothered me at first - he`s my favorite character from the show hence I was in love with Kenichi`s performance in the movies so I can`t help it - but not so much to the point I hated it, quite the contrary... I ended up enjoying this new version of him somehow. Also, Misa was right on spot for once and I was way too excited to see Near in focus - the tweaks in the characters Near and Mello were very interesting and surprising as it was pleasing to watch many other parts of the anime that did not make it to the movie.
The acting was A+ concerning the main cast! Misa, Raito, L, Near, Yagami... everyone put on a good show. But Raito... damn. Those who watched the anime know how accurate he was dwelling with his madness. Also, the animations are terrific! Yay to Ryuuk and Remu! I was expecting to catch a glimpse of Jealous too but... '3'
I had the impression things were going way too fast at the first episodes and then it settled at a good pace about halfway through. I wonder how if felt for those watching DN for the very first time... it could`ve been confusing so I think it should`ve been longer. So many things could`ve been better explored since they made interesting changes on the main plot of some characters... and I mean Near and Mello. Because since L went from an excentric antisocial genius to an arrogant spoiled smartass, I lost all interest in his personal plot this time.
I may be biased but I`d completely rewatch it soon and recommend this to anyone regardless if they know the story or not. Oh, and have you heard? There`s a new movie coming up next year! I hope they bring Matsuyama back to play Lawliet again! *-*

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Minarii
3 people found this review helpful
Apr 12, 2020
11 of 11 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 8.5
Story 7.5
Acting/Cast 8.5
Music 7.0
Rewatch Value 8.0
I will always find the idea of Death Note extremely fascinating. I remember while I was watching the anime years ago I always questioned myself what would I do if this note comes to me. Will I become a sadistic monster like Kira and try to play the role of a God, killing criminals and erasing all the evil people while searching for world peace?... Who wouldn't though?

When I decided to start this drama, my expectations were slightly low. I've seen the anime and it was absolutely brilliant. But I thought it would be almost impossible to adapt it into a drama and still remain as good as the original. I must say, though, I was absolutely shocked by how good this adaptation is and how true it stayed to the anime/manga. Of course there were some differences and I still prefer the anime, but I wholeheartedly enjoyed the drama version.

Death Note is super SUPER addictive. I'm not exaggerating at all, I binged it one day. Each episode ends with a cliffhanger and it makes you watch more and more. The pacing was perfect most of the time -- no dragging, no fillers, no useless talking. Everything progressed as smoothly as it could be. The main thing that I didn't like here is the same thing I didn't like in the anime - the plot after Near's appearance. In the drama Near appeared earlier, but I hated when he/she (what???) became an important part of the story. Then (after episode 9) the drama kind of slowed down a bit which was disappointing. However, the ending was brilliant.

Now, let's get into the characters because there's no point it talking about the plot anymore, since the idea is not original in the first place. Of course it was executed brilliantly, but Death Note has some very cool characters that deserve some attention.

Yagami Light will always be one of the most complex characters I've ever seen. You know, in the anime, he was one hell of a insane person. He was very sadistic and vicious and it might be hard to like him and connect to his character. (well, I was always team Kira so... xD) Here though, his motives were somehow easier to understand and you could connect to his character better. Of course, he was still a bit insane, but didn't really show his insanity till the end.

I liked L, too, but I couldn't fully connect with his character. Was it Kento's performance or was it the way the character was written, I don't know. I also wish they showed more scenes between him and Yagami, since they were very entertaining to watch (for example the tennis game!!). Maybe this has something to do with the lenght of the drama, but I still believe they could have developed their ''relationship'' more.

My favourite character is Ryuk. He is just a whole mood. I love him so so so much. And I'm just so glad that they didn't change his character.

Kubota is absolutely PERFECT as Yagami Light/Kira. His expressions were so on point, his agony, his anger, his sadness -- everything was perfectly shown. Light is a very difficult character to portray but he did a flawless job. He just keeps surprising me, he always manages to become one with his characters and sometimes you don't even realize that he's acting.
Yamazaki Kento... I don't know, I think he was a bit too cute? Lmao, this is not a bad thing of course, but his image doesn't really suit a character like L and he was a bit unconvincing at times. Still, I think he did a decent job.
I didn't like the actress who played Near. I cringed at her scenes soooooooo many times, it's insane. The actress who played Misa did better than her.

Okay, this review is getting way too long, so let me just wrap it up. I recommend Death Note to everyone, I believe you all would enjoy it no matter if you've already seen the anime or read the manga. It's very addicting and unique.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
FullymutedScum
5 people found this review helpful
Dec 17, 2015
11 of 11 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 5.5
Story 4.0
Acting/Cast 5.5
Music 3.5
Rewatch Value 1.0
This was very meh. They took all the bad parts about Death Note and emphasized them. Adding Near as a beginning character is one of them. Near shouldn't have even existed in the main series let alone the whole time.

Whoever made this turned L into a stupid, materialistic, annoying, pretty boy. Raito (Light) (Kira) into a pathetic beta person who cares about things normal people care about and misa-misa into a plastic retarded bimbo who saves our beta Kira. The whole show is an underwear stain on the whole Death Note series. They should be ashamed.

It totally killed misa-misa's edgy feeling (even if she wasn't the brightest crayon, they really took the stupidity to a new level), Kira's sociopathic tendencies and L's quirky but subtle all seeing knowledge that almost rivals Kira. They also made Ryuk the most annoying, obnoxious idiot in the whole series. I also hate how they made it look like Raito was chosen. It was completely random and Ryuk didn't care simply because he was bored. Dunno why they gotta go as far as ruining that too but it happened.
“Because I was bored, that's why.” Is what made him amazing.

Although the worst part of it all had to be the moral that seems to float around it "Power corrupts". I mean, Raito had it in him and turned into it on a dime, it was him and he owned it. The force of which they seem to project this moral from making Raito a complete beta at the start, really just ruins the whole feeling you get from Death Note.

The production value looked pretty high too. It's sad it's completely shit.

Raito from the start already gave up on humanity, already had nothing but disdain for it. He saw a chance to change it and seized it. He definitely didn't cower and squirm like a bitch when learning about it.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Hirobo2
4 people found this review helpful
Sep 22, 2015
11 of 11 episodes seen
Completed 4
Overall 4.5
Story 1.0
Acting/Cast 9.5
Music 9.5
Rewatch Value 1.0
To those wondering if there is any value to this new production, seeing how there is already a live-action production before this one, the quick answer is "YES" if you like Death Note.

As someone who's watched the prior adaptation, I can tell you if you really like Death Note, this new one will provide a new angle you've never seen before. You won't be disappointed.

First of all, there is Yagami Light who is a Luke Skywalker look-alike in his role. In the first act, he trains to use the death notebook just like Luke Skywalker trains to use The Force.

Second, the death notebooks are treated like precious-s-s-s-s commodities in this adaptation (reference to Lord of the Rings). As such, we actually get a scene where Light transforms into Gollum when he reunites with his lost notebook.

Third, the central idea of Death Note is that power corrupts, and absolute power corrupts absolutely. This theme is given front row center treatment throughout the drama.

I won't even go into the superb acting, since that's already covered in the other reviews before me. And also the CGI and music are superbly done to the point of being of cinema-quality.

So, having gotten the good points out of the way, here's the reason why I gave this drama a 4.5. The ending sucked. Sometimes, the good guys don't wear white (Darth Vader was the hero of the Star Wars universe b/c he be the one who overthrew the evil scumbag Emperor. Was Vader dressed in white like a certain cocky spoiled brat with too much time money and manservant on their hand?). L/Near aren't the good guys. They're the reason why countless of innocent FBI agents died trying to capture Kira. They're the real murderers. Light just offs ppl that are bad. L/Near are also responsible for making Light's younger sister the only Yagami family member left alive at the end.

B/c of this, this show was like a 9.5 right until the last episode. What would have redeemed it from my 4.5/10 was to kill off Near as well, possibly the most annoying, badly-acted character in the entire series, seeing how Light was to be killed off anyways. L/Near are the false lights. In this end, the real bad guys won...

In summary, I can't believe the same script writers who sustained a 9.5/10 rating from yours truly throughout episodes 1-10 just threw that all away with the horrible way the show ended. Ending sucked so bad, I am likely to suffer from PTSD wrt to J-Drama in the near future. That's b/c the writer is the God of any given work of fiction. If I was God in Death Note's world, Near would be dead at the end too b/c I'm an impartial God, not one who is partial to the authorities that saw their own members die b/c of the arrogance of certain mortals with a preference for white clothing.

All in all, a show is only as good as the ending. If you're the sort that likes consistency, stay away from DN 2015. I swear all the episodes before the last one are like 9.5. IMHO, the last one just blows, made the entire series a meaningless waste of time for me in the end...

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Cakaloca
1 people found this review helpful
Oct 31, 2021
11 of 11 episodes seen
Completed 2
Overall 5.0
Story 5.0
Acting/Cast 6.0
Music 5.0
Rewatch Value 4.0

2.5/5⭐ is a generous rating for this show..

2.5/5⭐ is a generous rating for this show. Interesting concept not so interesting execution.

Actors did good enough but the characters didn't even manage to engage viewers emotion. The ML had no admirable trait except maybe his twisted sense of justice. The FL (if you wish to call her that) is a bit on the dumb side but loved ML unconditonally. The main antagonist of the show turns out to be one of the good guys, but definitely looks like and acts like a total psychopath.

What else? Hmmm.. Still managed to finish the whole series after a lot of skipping here and there. If you're like me who's a sucker for a happy ending, well it's not for you then.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
PHope
0 people found this review helpful
Jul 23, 2017
11 of 11 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 9.0
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 10
Music 8.0
Rewatch Value 8.0
Having just finished the drama, I can say that I experienced a lot of feelings that I didn't expect to. The series is quite good, with the performances taking the wheel and leading the drama till the very end. I liked that Kira was made more human, and we could see his journey from where he began and the struggles he had to overcome and made him who he was. In the end, he kind of reminded me of the Golum, obsessed over the ring, though, in Kira's case, he had a huge god syndrome to boot. The acting by the lead actor was excellent, portraying the paranoia of Kira brilliantly. Second to that was Kento's performance. I've got to say, as his fan, I am a little biased, but that aside, he did a great job and it was different from what he had shown so far in the manga romantic comedies. The story was unfolded beautifully, with the twists coming out of no where and the story keeping you on your toes till the very end. My only concern about this drama are the graphics that were really bad, but other than that, this is a seriously great drama.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
CherryBunny
4 people found this review helpful
Sep 17, 2015
11 of 11 episodes seen
Completed 1
Overall 7.0
Story 5.0
Acting/Cast 9.0
Music 6.0
Rewatch Value 1.0
This drama had all the potential to be utterly amazing, given that it was the live action adaption of one of the greatest mangas ever written. Unfortunately, due to the ineptitude of the drama writers, it was mediocre at best. This, in my opinion, is due solely to their arrogance in feeling overconfident in thier talent and biting off more than they could chew. I really want to stress that even though I am a big Death Note fan, my opinions are not due to them changing the source material. It is because those changes they made happen to be detrimental to the story, and the changes made ended up not making sense, contridicted the story or just came across as weak and shallow. The original story is nothing less than brilliant. This adaption is like Death Note For Dummies. Even if you have never read the manga or seen the anime, it is hard to miss all the gaping plot holes scattered throughout.

With all that said, I ended up rating this drama pretty high, considering. That was because of the acting. Kubota Masataka was simply phenomenal as Yagami Light. When I started watching the first episode, I admit to not really expecting much. However, after a while, I became deeply impressed by him, particularly during the last half of the drama. His descent into madness was expertly portrayed, and as I watched him on my screen, he was the mirror image of the Light Yagami from the anime and manga. The one change that was made that I ended up liking was him and his personality. Instead of the sociopathic Light from the original, they made him be a normal kid. He was friendly and good at the start, but his possession of the Death Note and his obsession with creating a new world pushed him down into a spiral of madness. It does make one think. If you found a Death Note, could the same thing happen to you?

Yamakazi Kento's L, in contrast to Kubota's performance, was rather underwhelming. In fact, he was very unlikable at the start. Fortunately, as time went on, he improved. Much of that improvement is thanks to the inclusion of some of L's most poignant mannerisms. At first, none were really there. It was hard for me to see this character as the legendary L. Eventually, though, Yamazaki begin to adopt simple little things into his acting, such as L's famous slouchy posture and his wide eyed stare. Those may seem like very small things, but to me, they made a world of difference. I started to recognize the character and like him.

All of the actors did a decent job. I especially liked this version's Misa. She wasn't as weak.

My final thoughts are about Near. I have absolutely no dang clue what was up with that character at all. I am still unsure if he was still supposed to be a boy, just played by a girl ir if they changed him into a girl and the translation was messed up. I also have no idea what was going through thier heads when they made all the changes to that character. They were all stupid and pointless.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Amy T
0 people found this review helpful
Oct 6, 2017
11 of 11 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 9.5
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 9.5
Music 7.0
Rewatch Value 9.0
Although it doesn't follow the original story directly, this is one of the best adaptations I have seen. It still keeps many of the same details, but dramas are usually short so they have to cut things out somewhere and can't be perfect. While it lacked some of the original details that made the story so good to begin with, it made up for that in other ways by altering the story to fit the length of the drama and close it out.

Kubota's acting was incredible and so was the rest of the cast. Highly recommend for any Death Note fans.
Was this review helpful to you?